Five of The Best New Rockin Tunes

I’ve been out and about the last couple of weeks. Between working and Christmas. I haven’t had the time to sit and write something.  Right now I got nothing to really give you. Got a Q&A coming in the not too distant future. But I thought I’d give you this little treat to hold you over. Here are 5 new (ish) songs that I think are worth your attention. Enjoy and listen!

Marcel Bontempi “Cat Man”

He was right in Marcel Bontempi :Witches, Spiders, Frogs, and a Q&A, he seems to always be recording. Here he takes Gene Vincent’s “Cat Man” and makes it his own. Like he does with every song he covers.

Jittery Jack meets Darrel Higham “Big City Blues”

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times: Rockabilly doesn’t have enough collabos! Rappers do it all the time. Hell, they do it to death. Here we have master guitarist and master rocker combining talents. The guitars are classic Higham (I almost expect Imelda May to start singing). It also great to hear Kevin Patey , been a couple of years since I’ve heard anything new from him. (just cause I think its cool, I was unaware of this album until I did the post Jittery Jack Q&A: The Definitive Rockabilly Nerd Q&A!)

Deke Dickerson “Nashville Boogie”

Finally someone who I haven’t done a Q&A with (I did meet him and had a quick conversation with, where I started hyperventilating and ran away). This definitely captures the Nashville Boogie weekender (at least what I see in other people’s posts that I get super jealous of).

Pat Capocci “Coming in hot”

Australians have such a hard time believing me when I mention Pat Capocci. I beg them to go look him up (all this while not trying to quote Crocodile Dundee!). That is some white-hot guitar playing. For some reason I wanna play this while getting a hair cut. Hopefully I can convince a barber to let me play this.

Nico Duportal “I will unfriend you”

One of my favorite Frenchmen, Nico Duportal lays down some rockin rhythm n blues. Including the most modern lyrics I’ve heard in a while. If you don’t like this song….I will unfriend you (see its cheesy if I say it).

Like these 5 songs? Know anyone other new songs recently released? Let me know in the comments. While you’re here, go like the Official Rockabilly Nerd Facebook page HERE.

And as always, please stop talking about your car!

Leave a Reply

